The One | Book Review

The One #3 by Kiera Cass

Publication: May 6th, 2014 by HarperTeen

Series: The Selection

Summary:

The time has come for one winner to be crowned.

When she was chosen to compete in the Selection, America never dreamed she would find herself anywhere close to the crown—or to Prince Maxon’s heart. But as the end of the competition approaches, and the threats outside the palace walls grow more vicious, America realizes just how much she stands to lose—and how hard she’ll have to fight for the future she wants.

Goodreads Page

My Thoughts:

I thought I wasn’t going to like this book because after I read The Elite I couldn’t stand America anymore and knowing how annoying she was near the end, I thought it would just be her complaining over and over again in the next book. I can’t say that she didn’t annoy me in The One because she did. Immensely. But like I said the plot was what made me continue the story, even though we know who America chooses and who the prince chooses. It’s pretty obvious, you wouldn’t even need to read the book to guess.

Plot:

Finally, the selection ends and Prince Maxon chooses his wife! WOOHOO.

Even though the plot continues from book one and two, I found that in this book, there was something more daring and different than the first two books. There is a lot of friendship and romance in this book oh and some deaths 🙂

Characters:

Okay, the characters get better, {not America, in my opinion}

Aspen on the other hand, changes, he realizes that he no longer feels what he felt for America before and lets go. ABOUT TIME.

Don’t even get me started on America. She’s probably the top of my most hated characters. Something about her makes me dislike her so much. I have a lot of reasons to hate her, but I literally cannot put them into words.

Cover:

The white dress is so pretty. Wait. Is that America in her wedding dress?

OTP:

Besides Prince Maxon and you know who…

There’s another couple that I am quite fond of 🙂 {I KNEW IT WAS GOING TO HAPPEN}

Extra:

< Aspen in the beginning with America

< America in the beginning with Aspen

< Aspen in the middle with America

< America with Maxon in the end

< Maxon with America in the end

Overall:

I liked this book the most out of the Selection and The Elite. I would recommend anyone who didn’t want to finish the series to continue till The One. Trust me, I understand why you didn’t continue, but I think this book will make you want to read more because *SPOILER* a lot of people die!!!!

Rate:

4 stars


What do you think? agree or disagree? Let me Know!

