A Little Something Different | Book Review

A Little Something Different by Sandy Hall

Publication: August 26, 2014 by Swoon Reads

Summary:

The creative writing teacher, the delivery guy, the local Starbucks baristas, his best friend, her roommate, and the squirrel in the park all have one thing in common—they believe that Gabe and Lea should get together. Lea and Gabe are in the same creative writing class. They get the same pop culture references, order the same Chinese food, and hang out in the same places. Unfortunately, Lea is reserved, Gabe has issues, and despite their initial mutual crush, it looks like they are never going to work things out. But somehow even when nothing is going on, something is happening between them, and everyone can see it. Their creative writing teacher pushes them together. The baristas at Starbucks watch their relationship like a TV show. Their bus driver tells his wife about them. The waitress at the diner automatically seats them together. Even the squirrel who lives on the college green believes in their relationship.

Surely Gabe and Lea will figure out that they are meant to be together…

Goodreads Page

My Thoughts:

14 different view points, this book is unique and creative.

Plot:

“Sometimes it’s better to say something stupid than nothing at all.”

I wasn’t particularly fond of the plot. I felt like the story behind this whole book is very cliche, very unrealistic and very slow. This whole novel was extremely slow paced. I felt like every page was a repeat of the previous page: The girl talks to the guy, but the guy doesn’t say much… They both feel embarrassed, they stare dreamily at each other and other people feel something between them… etc. The whole time I was reading I was basically like COME ON JUST TALK. GET-ON-WITH-THE-STORY. [But i’m guessing that’s what the author was aiming for]. The plot just wasn’t my style at all.

Characters:

The two main characters: Lea and Gabe, They weren’t good protagonists. I didn’t really feel them, but it’s probably because they didn’t have a point of view in the novel: 14 different POVs and none of them were theirs. It would’ve been really nice to hear their side of the story. However, they weren’t bad protagonist either. Gabe is relaxed and he seems like a pretty cool guy and Lea seems like a nice girl and she’s Asian, which makes me kind of biased. Not to mention, this book has very diverse characters, which is a wonderful concept!

“I’ll die of embarrassment.”
“At least you’ll die knowing.”

There were many other characters and I didn’t really have a favorite at all. The other characters in the novel in my opinion acted very immature and some of them were adults!

^ Basically me.

Writing:

The writing style of this book is very creative and unique because it is in many different view points and I found it very funny that two of the POVs were from things that can’t talk. For example, The squirrel, which is very cute and the bench on the campus.

OTP:

“…their voices are quieter than the other groups around them, but their body language speaks volumes.”

Lea + Gabe = NO

I, in all truths, did not see whatever the characters in the novel were seeing. I didn’t see them at all being a couple. I didn’t see the chemistry between them. NOTHING. Sorry Sandy, you’re a wonderful writer, but this ship is not sailing between Lea and Gabe.

However,

Bailey + Bianca = POTENTIAL SHIP

I don’t know why, but I see more spark between these two characters than Lea and Gabe.

Cover:

I really like the cover of this book. It looks very intricate, but it is actually really simple and I think it sums up the novel.

Overall:

This book was a quick and easy read. I thought it was funny and quirky. I liked the book, but I also didn’t like it. I’m kind of disappointed that we didn’t get to hear/ read from Lea’s and Gabe’s POV, but it’s all good. It was a cute and sweet read.

Rate: (3 Stars)

3 stars


What did you think of the book? Agree or Disagree? Let me Know!

One thought on “A Little Something Different | Book Review

Leave a Reply

