Aristotle and Dante Discover The Secrets of The Universe | Book Review

Aristotle and Dante Discover The Secrets of The Universe by Benjamin Alire Saenz

Publication: Feburary 21, 2012 by Simon & Schusters Books for Young Readers

Summary:

Aristotle is an angry teen with a brother in prison. Dante is a know-it-all who has an unusual way of looking at the world. When the two meet at the swimming pool, they seem to have nothing in common. But as the loners start spending time together, they discover that they share a special friendship—the kind that changes lives and lasts a lifetime. And it is through this friendship that Ari and Dante will learn the most important truths about themselves and the kind of people they want to be.

Goodreads Page 

My Thoughts:

If I had all the money in the world, I would buy this book for everyone I see on the streets.

This book is absolutely breathtaking.

I have literally no words to put how much I am in love with this book.

Plot:

“Maybe we just lived between hurting and healing.”

The plot was astonishing. Literally everything about it was wonderful. From the characters to the story to the writing, absolutely everything. This book not only deals with gay characters, but it also deals with how the world is seen in the characters point of View.  I seriously cannot put into words how amazing this book is.

Characters:

“I hated being volunteered. The problem with my life was that it was someone else’s idea.”

The characters in this book is absolutely phenomenal. Aristotle is probably the best protagonist ever. He can come off as a “jerk”, but the thing is he doesn’t exactly want to be one. Crazy as that sounds, but it’s the truth. Aristotle is a character that a lot of people can simply relate to, his struggles of culture and feeling lonely and regretting growing up. Some people might like him or hate him and I felt more on the like side because he’s a character that I can emotionally and physically connect with.

“I had a feeling there was something wrong with me. I guess I was a mystery even to myself.”

And Dante. Oh my god. Dante. Probably my favorite character. Dante is a character that is similar to Ari, but I feel like he’s the “lighter” version of him. Dante is extremely sweet and down-to-earth. He also struggles with his culture because he’s Mexican-American and he feels like he doesn’t feel the Mexican side of him and he hates that. I just want to hug Dante every time he shows up in the novel because he is so precious. Ari is seriously a lucky boy to be in love with him.

Writing:

The writing style of this novel was well thought out. It was simple, easy, and really simply beautiful. Saenz did a wonderful job with the book. I couldn’t be more in love with it.

OTP:

Aristotle + Dante = Smiling Face With Heart-Shaped Eyes

Boy am I in LOVE with this cute, adorable couple. These two are just, asdfghjkl. They are perfect for each other, in every way possible.

Cover:

This cover is extremely stunning. The beautiful symbols above the title, almost like in the sky. So. much. meaning. The red car in the bottom corner. Wow. I just have no words. They did a wonderful job.

Overall:

This book is probably one of the best LGBT books out there. It has so much meaning and thought to it. You will seriously mark every page. Maybe even read it ten times. I seriously cannot stress how much I love this book.

Rate: (5 Stars)

stars

So what did you think of this book? Want to read it? Let me know!

8 thoughts on “Aristotle and Dante Discover The Secrets of The Universe | Book Review

Leave a Reply

